Official-document research · Automated review
Character.AI Plus Pricing: c.ai+, Lite and Free Compared
Based on vendor documentation and notices; this is not a hands-on performance test.
Character.AI identifies US$9.99/month as the standard c.ai+ monthly renewal rate; its subscription page shows $94.99/year with annual auto-renewal. Free messaging remains available, and the separate (c.ai) lite tier is listed at US$4.99/month or US$2.49/week in US help guidance. Region and platform matter: Apple’s US and UK purchase amounts differ, and their displayed purchase labels do not state billing periods.
Sources checked 2026-10-21. This guide summarizes official documents and store listings, not hands-on testing. “Not publicly stated” means absent from the checked public sources; it is not an estimate or proof that a feature is unavailable.
Prices by source, platform and region
| Plan and source | Listed amount | Billing period and qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Free, official lite FAQ | No subscription required | Free messaging; not a paid plan |
| c.ai+, official offer terms | US$9.99 | Standard monthly renewal rate; do not confuse with an introductory promotion |
| c.ai+, website | $94.99 | Per year, auto-renews yearly; pricing display does not name currency, but offer terms identify the same annual rate in USD |
| c.ai+, US App Store | $9.99 and $94.99 | Both labeled Character.AI+; billing periods not publicly stated beside these purchases |
| c.ai+, UK App Store | £9.99 and £99.99 | Both labeled Character.AI+; billing periods not publicly stated beside these purchases |
| c.ai+, Google Play | Not publicly stated | Listing confirms in-app purchases, not subscription amounts or periods |
| (c.ai) lite, US help guidance | US$4.99/month or US$2.49/week | Separate tier below c.ai+; monthly or weekly |
Sources: subscription page, offer terms, About lite, lite FAQ, US App Store, UK App Store and Google Play.
The offer terms explicitly warn that actual pricing may vary by region. Their older summer promotion describes US$14.99 for an initial three months and US$59.99 for an initial year, but current availability is unconfirmed. Those are not verified current offers or the standard renewal prices. A comprehensive supported-country list is not publicly stated in the inspected subscription pages.
What free, lite and c.ai+ change
| Feature | Free | Lite | c.ai+ |
|---|---|---|---|
| Messaging | Unlimited messaging retained | Daily premium-style allowance; exact amount not publicly stated in checked guidance | Unlimited premium-style chats advertised |
| Ads | Free tier retains ads | Fewer ads | No ads |
| Pins | 15 | 30 | 30 |
The lite FAQ, About lite comparison and subscription page distinguish premium styles and ad levels. Paid plans do not establish an unlimited entitlement to every feature.
The c.ai+ FAQ advertises skipping waiting rooms and approximately 2–3× faster message generation. That is a company claim, not a result measured here. Official guidance also describes customization, early feature access, premium support and a 20% Charms bonus on pack purchases; the bonus is not a subscription-price discount.
Official pages disagree on limits and wording
The live subscription page labels c.ai+ feature limits “Highest”, while September’s About lite comparison calls them “Unlimited”. The c.ai+ FAQ says response content is “currently the same” between free and paid, while newer plan descriptions distinguish premium chat styles. The live page names basic styles “PipSqueak 3” and “ShortSqueak”; September’s comparison uses “PipSqueak 2” and “PipSqueak 2 Rawr”. These are differences between official pages, not evidence that every paid feature has no cap.
The Calls and Voice FAQ says Character Voice is free and distinguishes Voice playback from two-way Calls. Current free-versus-paid call quotas and any paid unlimited-calls entitlement are not publicly stated in the checked sources. Do not buy c.ai+ on an assumption that voice is paid-only or that calls are unlimited.
How to verify your price
Open the official subscription page and the store listing for the country and platform you would use, then read the actual subscription screen before paying. Keep the plan, currency, billing period, introductory amount and renewal amount separate. Apple’s two purchase amounts do not identify their periods, so matching a dollar amount to the website is not enough to label an Apple purchase monthly or annual. Google Play’s public listing supplies no subscription price to substitute. Do not extend US pricing to another region or treat the old promotion as available without checking.
Related research
- Character.AI alternatives: features, free limits and pricing
- Nomi pricing: free access, paid plans and limits
Sources checked 2026-10-21
- Official subscription page
- Official offer terms, standard renewal and regional qualifications
- About (c.ai) lite
- (c.ai) lite FAQ
- c.ai+ FAQ
- Calls and Voice FAQ
- US App Store
- UK App Store
- Google Play
Official source observation dates
- https://character.ai/subscribe —
- https://support.character.ai/hc/en-us/articles/51248493096987-c-ai-Summer-Flash-Sale-Offer-Terms —
- https://support.character.ai/hc/en-us/articles/56173313531675-About-c-ai-lite —
- https://support.character.ai/hc/en-us/articles/55388952900379--c-ai-lite-FAQ —
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/character-ai-chat-talk-text/id1671705818 —
- https://apps.apple.com/gb/app/character-ai-chat-talk-text/id1671705818 —
- https://play.google.com/store/apps/details/Character_AI_Chat_Talk_Text?hl=en_US&id=ai.character.app —
- https://support.character.ai/hc/en-us/articles/55845963766555-C-ai-FAQ —
- https://support.character.ai/hc/en-us/articles/23957274129691-Character-Calls-Voice-FAQ —